What I’m…right now.

Welcome to the what I’m….post.  Things are a bit rough for me right now, and I really needed to write something and share it so here’s what you get. 

 What I’m listening to:  Counting Crows’ “A Long December,” Train’s “Bruises” and Michael Buble’s new album…especially “I’ve Got it Easy” and “A Beautiful Day.”  Also Trombone Shorty’s “Do to Me” and Gavin Degraw’s “I Don’t Wanna Be.”   …and the Harry Potter 5 audiobook.

What I’m reading: Way too many things at one time.  My complete lack of focus in reading lately is a post for another time.  And there are a few other books I’ve started but not been actively reading. But what I’m reading with the most focus right now are:

  • Balance Your Hormones, Balance Your Life: Achieving Optimal Health and Wellness through Ayruveda, Chinese Medicine and Western Science By Claudia Welch –> Highly recommended to any woman.  Though I promise it will make you hate things that your doctors didn’t tell you.
  • Stories I Only Tell My Friends By Rob Lowe  –> So far this is really good.  I like his style, it’s very conversational and such interesting stories about his life growing up. I’m sure more to come as I read more.  It’s nice to read a book from an actor who can also write.

I have a whole huge list of “To Read” books, but I’m particularly looking forward to Lauren Graham’s Someday, Someday Maybe, the third book in Sylvia Day’s trilogy and the new Khaled Hosseini book.

What I’m watching: A lot of Gilmore Girls as well as The West Wing series for the first time.  Plus the usual suspects.  New Girl was especially funny this week.

What made me think this week:  This story from West Wing that Leo tells Josh:

“A doctor passes by and the guy shouts up, ‘Hey you. Can you help me out?’ The doctor writes a prescription, throws it down in the hole and moves on.

“Then a priest comes along and the guy shouts up, ‘Father, I’m down in this hole can you help me out?’ The priest writes out a prayer, throws it down in the hole and moves on

“Then a friend walks by, ‘Hey, Joe, it’s me can you help me out?’ And the friend jumps in the hole. Our guy says, ‘Are you stupid? Now we’re both down here.’ The friend says, ‘Yeah, but I’ve been down here before and I know the way out.'”

What I’m thankful for:

Chris’s ability to know me better than I know myself.  And this face:

photo-17

Leave a Reply

