The one where I gush just a little bit about my marriage.

Now…we are in no way perfect. We are real people.  Life is hard. Marriage is hard.

But today is our 3rd wedding anniversary.  3 years ago I put on the pretty white dress by the beautiful Truckee River and married my best friend.  It was simple and beautiful and one hell of a party.  (Note to brides – it’s one day. Make it fun.)

We’ve been together 6  ½ years.  That number seems a bigger deal to me sometimes because of all that has happened in that time span.

We’ve been through some pretty rough times and places in our life together. More than some go through in early marriage.  At one point between the two of us I think we had like 5 separate jobs. (That was a fun tax year)  We’ve lived in crappy apartments. We’ve gone through 17 weeks apart while he trained for Amtrak in Delaware. We got me through school, we’ve dealt with our share of death, of struggles – financial, friendships, family and the like. Of just the straight up changes that you go through in your early and late 20s.  And currently we are really dealing with my particularly hard health issues.  Without explaining everything here, let me just say, Chris has been a saint throughout.  He’s been there for me in a way many husbands will never have to.  I joke that he probably didn’t realized he signed up with so much ‘sickness’ with the health.  But he doesn’t care. He loves me unconditionally, and I him.  It’s just one of those things that’s a given and never a question with us.  And for that I am so incredibly grateful.

pic

I love that we never stop laughing and that he goes out of his way to make me laugh when things are hard.  No joke, he started dancing in Trader Joes a few weeks ago mimicking one of our favorite TV shows.

I love how strong he is, while he may question himself and worry, he is one of the most resilient people that I know, and I know that when it comes down to it, he would do anything for me, for us and for our future.

I love that he knows me inside and out and at times better than I know myself and that we continue to love each other as we’ve grown into the people we are still becoming.

I am so grateful to have found my ‘person’ at such a young age.  I am so lucky.

“Maybe all the plans we made might not work out, but I have no doubt, even though it’s hard, it seems…I have faith in us, I believe in you and me. We are stronger here together…than we could ever be alone…hold on to me…don’t you ever let me go”    Our first dance song  (Hold On – By Michael Buble)

And for anyone who wants to take a look at our wedding slideshow – man how different everyone looks 3 years ago!

 
Here’s to 3 years, babe, and many, many more to come.  The best is yet to be.

 

Leave a Reply

