Gifts Just Because

One of my best friends from high school is a new mom. A stressed out new mom trying to go to school and navigate a 6 month old. I talked to her last week and I could just hear it in her voice that she needed a pick me up. Her and I, we’ve been through the ringer in the course of our friendship.

A lot happens in life between ages 13 and 25!

But I am so thankful that throughout the years we’ve remained close. I love the quote in the “sunscreen” song graduation song where he says “Friends come and go, but with the precious few, you should hold on. Work hard to bring the gaps in geography and lifestyle, because the older you get, the more you need the people you knew when you were young.”

Anyway, I decided to put together a stressed out mommy gift basket, and thanks to Pinterest, I think it came out really cute.

First, I was able to find a cookie jar recipe that actually fits the smaller mason jars. And of course we tasted the recipe to make sure that they were good. 🙂

Second, I attempted to make bubble bath. We’ll see how it came out once she uses it, but it smells really good!

photo-21

Eucalyptus Bubble Bath
1/4 cup Honey
1/4 cup clear plain hand soap
1/2 cup sunflower oil
25 drops Eucalyptus essential oil

 

Also included was:
A pen and journal
A vanilla candle
Nail polish and remover
and this cheesy poem:

 

I’ve heard you are stressed, so I’ve made you this gift

A little pick me up to give you a lift!

A candle and homemade bubble bath, a journal for your thoughts

Pretty nails, soft lips because you deserve YOU time – a lot!

And who could forget the best remedy for stress…

A jar full of cookies because, friend, you’re the best!

 

 

Here’s the final product!

photo-20

Why not make the stressed out mom in your life something fun to lift their spirits?  The best kind of gifts are the just because gifts!

 

 

 

One thought on “Gifts Just Because

Leave a Reply

