Motherhood Mondays: It Won’t Be Like This For Long

Welcome to my first “Motherhood Mondays” post. In an effort to post more consistently, I’m going to start doing a post every Monday on something to do with motherhood. Some will be short, some will be long. Who knows what will strike me on a particular week, since motherhood looks so different from week to week. Am I right?

This week I’ve been feeling a bit overwhelmed at my inability to get ANYthing done. Clare takes about 3 naps a day, and much of that time is used to feed myself or shower/look presentable for the day.   Especially if Chris is working on any given day and I don’t have the extra help. (Props to you, single moms!) So that leaves little time for getting anything done. I end up running around trying to clean things up like a crazy person once she goes down to sleep at night. I don’t even remember the last time I read an actual book, or even on my kindle itself. Any reading I do pretty much takes place on my kindle app on my phone. And I read a LOT of articles while nursing too. (As my friends and husband can attest since I’m always texting/emailing them to them) I also have a very sad stack of unread magazines sitting on my desk. Including 5 months worth of People Stylewatch. Yeah, it’s sad. But then again maybe when you are covered in spit up, breast milk and various other things all day long, a style magazine is not your top priority?…hmm. I have my entire childbirth educator certification to work on, and some other projects I want get started on. I want to be more consistent at blogging. I need to get some more prep done for my piano teaching. But there is just NO time. Taking care of a tiny human is a full, full, FULL time job. And this drives my perfectionist, type A personality insane.   I want to DO more. I want to be productive.

But I’m trying really hard to let go of that. Because in this season of my life, Clare’s needs are the top priority, and focusing on the little things as she grows is what I really need and want most of my energy to go into. Her wonder of watching the trees outside. Her eyes as they follow my puffy cat’s swishing tail. Her smile when she sees me come into the room. The way her little fuzzy hair sticks out in the back after we’ve been laying on the bed. Her eyes changing color. The way she kicks her little chubby legs and scratches the floor when she’s trying so hard to crawl, but just can’t quite do it yet. The little grunty sound she makes when she wants to nurse. These are the things that are important in this season. Sometimes in the frustration and rush of the day to day, I forget that. I’ll leave you with one of my favorite songs “It won’t be like this for long” by Darius Rucker. Because, truly, it won’t be like this for long.

One thought on “Motherhood Mondays: It Won’t Be Like This For Long

  1. I thought I commented on this but it must have been in my imagination. I am loving the Motherhood Mondays idea and look forward to following along. Also, since I know you love Darius Rucker, have you heard the song “This”? I love it.

Leave a Reply

