The Current Six: What I’m…

Reading – I just finished listening to the audiobook of Emily Giffin’s latest “The One and Only.” She’s one of my favorite authors, but honestly I just wasn’t feeling this one. It didn’t keep me hooked or feel like as in depth of a story as most of her other ones. We read “Maternal Desire – On Children, Love and the Inner Life” for our new mommy book club this month. I confess, I didn’t finish the book. It’s an awesome concept – maternal desire is not as valued in this society as it should be. Care in general isn’t, whereas acquisition is. But, she wrote it in such an academic way, it made it really hard to get through. Admirable book, but at this time in my life Ain’t nobody got time for that! Especially since I have a huge list of childbirth educator books I need to get through. I also finished the “Sweet Poison Quit Plan” on the heels of “A Year of No Sugar” Both were very eye opening to the damaging effects of sugar, and I’ve definitely cut down my intake since reading them. I also have to say I read Peggy Vincent’s “Baby Catcher” in June and it was wonderful. I think every woman and especially every pregnant woman needs to read it. So good. Our book for next month’s mommy book club is “Momfriends” by Arielle Papa and I just started it and already can relate! I am also reading “Mindful Parenting” and just started the audiobook of Rob Lowe’s second memoir, “Love Life.” The amount of books in my Goodreads “To Read” list is topping 130 these days, so often I am overwhelmed by all the choices! I usually tend to have one fiction, one non-fiction and one audiobook all going at the same time. Ah! I love books.

Watching – “Grey’s Anatomy” and “Call the Midwife” Clare and I’s little morning routine has included watching an episode of Grey’s Anatomy. We started with season 1 and only have a few episodes left until we’re done with all 10 seasons. Looking forward to season 11 in September. Everyone has been telling me that I need to watch Call the Midwife for a long time. Chris and I finally have started it once Clare goes to sleep at night. We just started season 2. It’s great, albeit a bit sad in pretty much every episode.

Eating – These lactation cookies, a whole lot of the Mediterranean Feta Salsa from Whole Foods, and a lot of baked sweet potatoes with blue cheese. No, I am not pregnant again. When I find something I like, I tend to just stick with it. I.E. I pretty much have oatmeal with almond butter, cinnamon and bananas for breakfast everyday.

Listening To – The One Bad Mother podcast archive and current episodes. So funny. So relatable. Highly recommend.

Looking Forward To – FALL! I am so sick of the heat and summer. I was cleaning out my closet for our upcoming clothing swap and it made me sad to look at my whole shelf of boots just waiting to be worn. Scarves, boots, leggings, fall TV, Apple Hill, Monterey Jazz, Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, I cannot WAIT.

Thankful For – Mommy friends. In this season of life, getting through the hard days would not be possible without these wonderful people. I read some buzzfeed article recently about the different type of mom friends you should have and I totally think I have all my bases covered! I’m so happy to have made so many new ones in the last 6 months, and so happy to journey into parenthood with some really great long-time friends. Because when you’ve been spent hours trying to get your crying baby to sleep, or you’ve just been thrown up on for the 10th time today, you need someone you can call, text, rant to, and someone who can say “I get it, I’ve been there, you’re doing a good job.” ❤

What about you? Reading, watching, eating anything great lately?

Leave a Reply

