Reverb14: August – Transition

I’ve been listening to Sarah Bagley’s podcast recently. I love her concept of “giving up perfectionism to live a B+ life” and she mentioned the Reverb project and how they do a blogging prompt every day in December. They also are doing monthly prompts. And I decided to join in. August’s prompt was about transition.

What came to mind for me besides the fact that we are transitioning to Fall – Apple Hill is OPEN – YAY! – is the idea of how our lives have transitioned over the years so far as technology is concerned. I’m reading this book about mindful parenting and this book about honing your creativity and both are making me really rethink a lot of forms of technology and overstimulation. There is so much good in a lot of the technology we have accumulated over the years. I have found so much new mom support and friends through various Facebook groups this last 6 months. I’ve forged connections that never would have been possible without social media. One of my cousins lives in Las Vegas and I haven’t seen her in years, but thanks to social media I feel caught up on her life, whereas without it, we likely wouldn’t have heard from each other. I can also defend the merits of unplugging until I’m blue in the face. I hate that we are all surgically attached to our smartphones and computers. I have countless conversations with Chris, my family and even friends about paying more attention to each other than our devices. But what I worry about even more is the world Clare will grow up in.

 

And it’s not just a technology thing, it’s the fact that kids (and parents too for that matter) no longer just “hang out.” Kids are SO crammed with extra curricular activities that they barely have time to breathe sometimes. When I was a kid we would spend so much time just outside. Just being. Riding bikes, playing on the “dirt jumps” across the street from our house. We would wander around Glenshire, sometimes running into deer, or walk the mile it was to the general store for a 25 cent piece of candy. Many times we would just lay out on the deck or the docks looking at stars for HOURS, talking, laughing, just being. We would stay up all night playing trivial pursuit, not texting or updating social media. Most people I grew up with didn’t have cell phones until they were at least 16. And I feel like we were able to form and maintain some of the bonds that we did because of that lack of technology. (Perhaps part of that was growing up in a tiny town, also.) But I really hope that we can find a way for Clare to enjoy that kind of childhood amidst the bombarding overstimulation that our current society has transitioned into.

Leave a Reply

