2015: Presence

New Year 2015 formed from sparking digits over black background

Some people have an aversion to goal setting and particularly new year’s resolutions. I loved how Teresa put it on last week’s episode of One Bad Mother. It becomes a joke of how quickly people will fall off the wagon, forget their goals, etc. And I do admit that I usually look forward to February when the gym does become less crowded all of a sudden. 😉 But something in me has always loved goals, lists and plans so it is something I enjoy doing most every year. I also really love this document Lesley posted for reflected on 2014 and into 2015. I plan on completing it as more of a journal exercise.

NYERESOL

I also like the concept that has become more commonplace the last several years of “One Little Word” where you pick one word to represent your year and take it on as a kind of mantra or over-arching idea that you want to remember throughout the year.   For me, my 2015 word is going to be PRESENCE. I was toying around with Simple, Priority and a few others, but Presence really has seemed to stick. Especially since my number one goal for 2015 is to incorporate a meditation/mindfulness practice into every day. A few years ago I took the Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction Program (MBSR), and through yoga and other avenues I have dabbled in it for a while, but this year I have decided to get more serious about it.

presence-logo

I hope that the word presence will resonate throughout my goals and my year.

And here are the more nitty gritty 2015 goals that I am committing to.

Meditate Everyday. I know this sounds like a lot. But we aren’t talking 20 minute sessions. We are talking even if it’s just a few minutes.   And I got this handy calendar from Elise’s Make 29 project to track it.

Read 25 Books. In 2014 I read 31 books, though several of those were childbirth books pre-Clare. So I’m being realistic with 25 in 2015. Look for some book reviews of the books I read in 2014 on the blog tomorrow.

Learn to sew a quilt. I got a sewing machine from my parents for Christmas. I took a super basic beginner class a few months ago, and I’d really like to learn to sew a quilt this year. (Along with other fun sewing projects!)

Write one blog post every week. Over the years I’ve had many different blogging goals that have seemed to fizzle out. One per week seems more realistic. Writing refreshes me, is enjoyable and helps me sort things out. So I really need to make it a priority.

Have a date with Chris once every month. I was inspired by Ashlee’s year of dates, and Chris and I have planned our own year of dates for 2015. It’s a bit of a challenge to do given how unpredictable his Amtrak schedule is, but we’re making it work.

Keep this Five Minute Journal daily– which incorporates gratitude. I heard about this on Jess Lively’s podcast, and I really love the concept, 5 min in the morning and 5 min in the evening and it has gratitude incorporated into it.

Try one new recipe every pay period – We grocery shop every two weeks and Chris and I haven’t decided to alternate picking a new recipe to try. Hopefully at the end of the year we will have 26 recipes to add to our arsenal…because there are many times this year we’ve gotten into a food rut. I am embarrassed how many times I had a baked sweet potato with blue cheese for dinner or lunch. Ha!

Launch my podcast and produce at least 25 episodes in 2015 – You may not have heard yet, but I am launching a podcast next week called the Postpartum Podcast. I am really excited about it and hope that you will tune in! Details coming soon.

Complete childbirth educator coursework and prep for early 2016 evaluated teaching series – When I started the ICEA program, I had two years to complete it. Which means by July 2016 I have to have it all done. Self paced is great but also really hard. My hope is to finish all of the coursework, birth observations and class shadowing throughout the year and plan on teaching my own evaluated series in early 2016, followed by the final test.

Try Running the Couch to 5K – I’ve never really been a runner…I tend to like Zumba, yoga and body pump, so I thought I would try to throw something new into the mix this year. Plus goals wouldn’t be complete without something physical. Right?

Then the more general ones…

  • Spend more time each week being creative, i.e. writing, crafting, sewing, scrapbooking/Project Life. I didn’t come up with a real measurable goal on this one, but I know that I am a happier person when I make time for these things.
  • Be more intentional with my social media and technology use. Doing a beta test for this mindful messaging app has me thinking more about my social media and just really phone use in general. It’s a precarious balance, using it for good and sharing and productivity versus using it out of boredom, in uncomfortable situations, and the inevitability of comparison. I LOVE this video on why we need to put our phones, tablets, computers down more and experience the world around us. I’m not sure what this will look like for me. I’m not going to go whole hog and delete and deactivate everything, but seriously culling the use. I slowly have been over the last few months, and I do notice a change in feeling when I do.

And there you have it. I plan to do some check-ins throughout the year, so keep me accountable, friends. Do you have any resolutions or goals for the New Year? Any similar ones?

One thought on “2015: Presence

  1. Pingback: Progress > Perfection | Everyday a Choice

Leave a Reply

