My Favorite iPhone Apps

DeathtoStock_Medium5

Today I wanted to share with you my top 8 favorite iPhone Apps. I know I love hearing about new apps that are really useful, so I hope you do too. I picked ones that you may or may not have heard of before. Because of course there are several apps I use ALL the time that you probably already know about (goodreads, kindle, podcast, Etsy, Amazon, Cartwheel, Gmail, and the usual social media culprits)

Coach.Me (Previously Lift) – I LOVE this app for tracking daily goals. I think I heard about it originally 3 or 4 years ago when it was Lift. I read about it in the Mindful magazine and it is awesome. It recently just changed to “Coach.Me” in January and the creators are now allowing you to hire “coaches” to help you motivate in your goals. But the cool thing about it is you pick goals and pick how often you want to achieve these goals. It tracks them for you and you can look back on your stats. There is a social component too where you can get props from other users with the same goals and ask questions. There are motivational quotes and even virtual high fives. I highly recommend it!

IMG_6877 IMG_6878

Any.Do – I have recently shifted to more paper planning and to do lists, and thanks to a recommendation my friend Jessica and a birthday gift card from my in-laws I have a brand new awesome planner headed my way soon. But for virtual to do lists I really enjoy any.do because it separates lists into today, tomorrow, upcoming and someday. These categories work well for me to parse out my to do list.

Feedly – If you read blogs then you have to have this app. I used to try and keep track of the blogs I read in a whole bunch of different places. I would ALWAYS miss posts and forget which blogs I even liked. Feedly is awesome because it shows when blogs post new posts and it’s super convenient to read on the go (or while nursing a sleeping baby!)

Mindful – One of the better meditation apps I’ve found. I do wish there were more options of different tracks to listen to, because with trying to meditate every day, the same tracks do get boring or harder to follow. If anyone has suggestions for other meditation apps they enjoy, please share! (Of course for some reason I couldn’t find the link for this one.  I don’t know if that means you can’t download it anymore?)

Headspace – Another great beginner meditation app. I enjoy this guy’s voice. It’s not grating or annoying or patronizing and it makes meditation more accessible to people who may be skeptical.

Couch-to-5K – I actually really love this app. I’m only into the second week of couch to 5K but I love how this app runs over the top of your music and tells you when to switch from warm up to running to walking to cool down. It also tells you when you’re halfway done and tracks your miles and pace. Great for beginning runners like me.

Overdrive – I think my mom originally told me about this one. You hook it up to your library account and can check out audiobooks and ebooks directly to your phone. If you are a reader, it’s great!

Thred Up – Oh Thred Up, I love you. Thred up is an online consignment shop. You buy like-new clothing at much cheaper than retail. I’ve bought several items off of here and always have been happy. You can also sell them your old clothes and get a credit. They do have an option to by free shipping for the whole year for $10. I definitely plan on doing that this year. If you want to check it out, use this link to get $10 off your first order, plus then I’ll get a credit! Win-win. Oh, did I mention they have BABY clothes now. It’s like a jbf sale without the crazy lines. Love!

4 thoughts on “My Favorite iPhone Apps

  1. Wow these are really some useful apps, makes me wonder why I am not using an iPhone 😦 Any idea whether windows phone has any of these? Couch-to-5K would have been great for me who loves to listen to music while running. Nice post 🙂

    • Thanks! I actually think most of them are probably available for both. Usually apps seem to be available for iphone first and then make their way to the other phones. Couch-to-5K is awesome! 🙂

  2. I loved this post! I’m gonna check out a few of these for sure! I’m the same way with paper/pen planning. I thought I was just different becuase I’m so technically savy with somethings but when it comes to organizing and scheduling I’m old fashion; plus I love color coding everything. 🙂 I always enjoy your posts so I hope you don’t mind but I would like to nominate you for the Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award. You can find the details here: https://conceivabledream.wordpress.com/2015/01/22/sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-award/

Leave a Reply

