Capsule Wardrobe: Winter 2015

The idea of a “Capsule Wardrobe” has been popular all over the place in the blogging and podcast sphere lately. I think I first heard about it when Jess Lively interviewed the gal from Unfancy on her podcast. Then my friend Monica did it. So I started by doing a fall capsule. I didn’t get a chance to blog about that one. Mostly just because the fall is CRAZY with holidays and there was no time. So now I have been on  capsule #2 – Winter 2015 (Jan-Mar) and am FINALLY getting around to sharing it on here.  I’ve already got my eye on plans for the spring capsule which I will hopefully post sooner this time.

So basically the idea is you cull your closet down to season appropriate clothing in a certain number. Meaning you don’t throw out your summer clothes during the winter, you just store them so they aren’t cluttering up your closet.   Monica did 50, Elise does 37. I think my fall wardrobe was larger than winter. The number is all up to you. Also, some people count shoes, some don’t. Workout clothes, PJs, accessories and undergarments don’t count.

I really like seeing other people’s capsule wardrobes because they are all so different. Depending on what phase of life you are in, your preferences and what you do on a daily basis all factor in.

For me – I hate jeans….pants of all kinds, really. I still chuckle at when I was working an office job, one day I did wear jeans to work, and my normally very soft spoken, introverted work BFF yelled “OMG, You’re WEARING PANTS!” I’m sure the office thought I typically came to work pants-less. Love you, An. 🙂

So I wear a lot of dresses, skirts, and sometimes leggings. I also teach piano lessons or work from home (or a coffee shop or library) on my childbirth educator work. So, my wardrobe looks a lot different than that of someone with an office job. Or even really probably one of a mom who stays home full time. Some of my beloved pencil skirts from my corporate days got put into storage. Never know when they may come back around.

So without further ado – my capsule wardrobe. Now, I can’t link up to all of the places I got my clothes because well, the majority of them have either come from ThredUP or Clothing Swaps. (More on clothing swaps below)

Here’s what my capsule wardrobe looks like currently.  Apologies for the yellow wall backdrop – it kinda messes with the color. Will do a different wall for spring. 😉 And will figure out the picture formatting better!

17 Dresses

3 Skirts

1 pair of Jeans

4 pair of Leggings

6 tops

15 Sweaters/Layering Shirts

=46 pieces total

Dresses

IMG_6948IMG_6988 IMG_6949 IMG_6950 IMG_6954 IMG_6963 IMG_6964 IMG_6968 IMG_6969 IMG_6970 IMG_6977 IMG_6978 IMG_6979IMG_6990IMG_7369IMG_7368IMG_7364

Left to Right: Clothing Swap (referred to as Swap the rest of the way) | Swap | ThredUP| Ross | ThredUP | Target | Swap | Ross | Macys like 5 years ago? | ThredUP | ThredUP | ThredUP | Target | H&M | ThredUP| Stitch Fix | Ross

Skirts

IMG_6959 IMG_6960

IMG_7367

Left to Right: Swap | Target | Ross

Jeans/Leggings

IMG_6955 IMG_6956

Nothing special…and I’m pretty sure I haven’t put on those jeans once this capsule. Ha.

Tops

IMG_6944 IMG_6947 IMG_6953 IMG_6966 IMG_6967IMG_7371

Left to Right: Target | ThredUp | Ross | Target | TJ Maxx | Ross

Sweaters/Layering Tops

IMG_6945 IMG_6946 IMG_6951 IMG_6952 IMG_6961 IMG_6962 IMG_6965 IMG_6971 IMG_6972 IMG_6974 IMG_6989 IMG_5804IMG_7363IMG_7365IMG_7370

 

Left to Right: Swap | Target | Swap | Swap | Swap | Swap | Ross | Swap | ThredUP | Swap | Swap | Swap | Ross | ThredUP | Ross

Another great thing I did with the fall version was turned all the hangers backwards and then every time I would wear something I would flip it around. Then by the end I knew what clothes of the capsule I had actually worn! It’s interesting writing this later in the capsule because I can already see clothes that haven’t been worn these two months.

*A note on clothing swaps – my girlfriends and I get together about 4 times a year to trade out clothes that we no longer wear.  We’ve been doing this for a number of years – thus the fact that so much of my wardrobe has come from them! It’s a great way to see your old clothes be renewed and re-loved and an inexpensive way to get “new to you” clothes. I highly recommend having one!

**If you click the ThredUP links, you’ll get $10 off your first order and I’ll get a $10 credit also! Win, Win. As you can see, I love ThredUP since much of my clothing has come from them. They are an online consignment store that carries like-new high quality clothing for budget prices! Some items are even new with tags. Highly recommend.

**If you would like to try out Stitch Fix, please use my link so I get referral credit! Stitch Fix is a personal styling company. You fill out a style profile and they send you five items. You can even share your style pinterest boards with them and they pick items they think might fit your style. You decide what to keep and send the rest back. You pay a $20 styling fee but that goes towards whatever you keep! I only kept the one dress from my first one, but I’m looking forward to my second fix.

Have you considered trying a capsule wardrobe? What was your experience? Please share!

2 thoughts on “Capsule Wardrobe: Winter 2015

  1. Loving this post! Its uber refreshing to see someone sticking to dresses and skirts predominately! I naturally prefer wearing dresses and skirts and with my SS15 capsules I intend to focus on dresses and skirts a lot! But for the winter capsules I really struggled as I didn’t want to repeat seemingly the same outfit over and over with dresses. How would you say you find you combating getting bored with less pieces? Or do you not get bored with your pieces?

    lovely post,

    Jess xo

    • Thanks Jess! Right? I feel like us dress girls are in the minority these days! 🙂 I know what you mean about repeating outfits. Which I tend to do, because even out of those dresses, I of course have my favorites that I wear more often. I think to combat that I try wearing different sweaters with different dresses or different scarves. I wouldn’t say I get bored but more I wonder if others get bored seeing me in the same things! 🙂

Leave a Reply

